Board of directors

  • Grant Colin Kurland: Non-Executive Chairman
    Grant studied for three years towards a Bachelor in Business Science in Actuarial Science at UCT before joining Nando’s in 1992, where he developed Nando’s franchises abroad, including several African countries. In 1999, he joined Credit Direct, a micro-credit operation, which was acquired by ABIL in 2000. Grant was appointed the head of sales at ABIL, and was responsible for designing its branch and mobile business models, which have become the benchmark in the South African micro-lending industry. Grant co-founded Bayport Management Ltd together with Stuart Stone, and is now the joint group CEO of Bayport Management Ltd.

  • Rob Rossi: Non-Executive Director
    Rob founded Miners Credit Guarantee (MCG) in 1991 to provide credit card type facilities to mine workers. MCG developed a network of over 300 retailers serving 150 000 clients. During 2003 MCG was integrated into ABIL and Rob sold his remaining shares to ABIL. In 2003 after ABIL merged Theta Investments and ABIL, he left ABIL and participated in the acquisition of the group of companies that merged with ATM Solutions Group (now Paycorp Holdings) to form Transaction Capital in 2006.

  • Bryan Arlow: Chief Executive Officer
    Bryan joined Bayport in 2004 and was previously the Chief Optimisation Officer for the Bayport Group. Bryan was appointed as CEO of Bayport South Africa in May 2015.

  • Stuart Stone: Non-Executive Director
    Stuart, a chartered accountant and a highly successful entrepreneur, is currently the joint group CEO of Bayport Management Ltd. Stuart was a founding shareholder in several successful businesses including Credit Direct, a joint venture with African Bank Investments Limited [ABIL]. Upon selling the remaining equity to ABIL, Stuart and the rest of his team joined ABIL and helped bed down their various acquisitions and strategies. Stuart co-founded Bayport together with Grant Kurland.

  • Justin Chola: Non-Executive Director
    Justin Chola holds a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) from Cornell University, USA as well as a Bachelor of Science (B Sc) from the University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK. Justin has a wealth of experience in the financial services and information technology sectors acquired in various key management positions. He is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Bayport Financial Services Zambia.